University of Minnesota
Office for Technology Commercialization

Office for Technology Commercialization homeOTC

About OTC


We strive to bridge the gap between the lab and the marketplace to connect faculty with companies to achieve results and make a difference.

Committee for Pharmaceutical Development


The goal of the Committee for Pharmaceutical Development (CPD) is to identify, develop and commercialize pharmaceutical products with the greatest impact by forming networks and fostering dialogue between University of Minnesota researchers and industry experts. The CPD aims to boost the success rate of therapeutic development and commercialization.

The Office of the Vice President for Research and the Office of the Vice President for Health Sciences serve as the sponsors of the CPD, which includes U of M staff and external advisors with proven drug-development experience.

The CPD provides guidance and ultimately funding, with potential matching funds from philanthropic and industry partners. Funded technologies will have demonstrated persuasive indicators of commercial success and will show potential for improving human health and generating revenue for the university.

Word docFunding Request Proposal


Contact Jodi Rebuffoni ( or 612-624-8291) for more information on CPD funding.

More Information

Benchmarking overview

To inform the development of the CPD, representatives from the University of Minnesota evaluated 16 peer institutions including Harvard, Johns Hopkins, Vanderbilt, Purdue, University of Pennsylvania and the Mayo Clinic to assess current practices in pharmaceutical commercialization. Key findings from the benchmarking activity have been incorporated into the bylaws and processes for the CPD to ensure success and alignment with best practices of other top research institutions.

PDF iconProcess Overview

PDF docOperating Principles and Bylaws

Committee members

Chuck Muscoplat - Committee Chair, OTC
Reggie Bowerman - OTC
Gunda Georg - College of Pharmacy
James Cloyd - Orphan Drug Development & Dept. of Experimental Therapeutics
Bob Schumacher - Center for Translational Medicine
Jeff Miller - Dept. of Medicine & Cancer Center
Marie DeGayner Kuker, external
John R. MacDonald, external
Michael Powell, external
Robert Schultz, external
Maurice R. Taylor II, external

PDF docMore about our external members