University of Minnesota
Institutional Review Board

Institutional Review Board homeIRB

IRB membership

Each IRB committee consists of faculty, students and staff representing all University campuses, Fairview and Gillette Children’s Specialty Hospital. Membership expertise includes scientists (biomedical and social behavioral), non-scientists and unaffiliated members. Learn about who is currently serving on the IRB.

Scientist members

Federal human research regulations ( 45 CFR 46.107 , 21 CFR 56.107 ) require IRBs to include at least one member whose primary concerns are in scientific areas. Scientific expertise is vital to ensure that risks to research participants are minimized by using sound research design and whenever appropriate, the research plan uses procedures already being performed for diagnostic or treatment purposes ( 45 CFR 46.111 , 21 CFR 56.111 ).

Non-scientists and unaffiliated members

Federal human research regulations ( 45 CFR 46.107 , 21 CFR 56.107 ) require IRBs to include at least one member whose primary concerns are in nonscientific areas. Community participation on the IRB is vital as these members review research from a nonscientific lens, sharing community and cultural perspectives in reviewing research. Unaffiliated members serving on the University’s IRB are not affiliated with the University of Minnesota, Fairview or Gillette Children’s Specialty Hospital.


The IRB has the ability to seek expert consultation to assist in the review of issues which require expertise beyond or in addition to that available on the IRB ( 45 CFR 46.107 , 21 CFR 56.107 ).

Membership opportunities

Service on the IRB is vital to supporting the research mission of the University and the protection of participants in that research. Members are drawn from both the University and its affiliates as well as the community.

We are currently seeking volunteers with the following expertise to serve on the IRB:

Affiliated faculty or staff with experience and expertise in working with pediatric populations

Community members with experience and expertise in general or healthcare-specific ethical issues and/or working with vulnerable adult or pediatric populations.

If you are interested in serving on the IRB, contact Tamara O'Black,

IRB members


Name/Title Affiliation
Lawrence Afrin, M.D. Medicine
John Anderson, M.D., Ph.D. Otolaryngology
Mukta Arora, M.D., M.S. Medicine
Joanne Billings, M.D., M.P.H. Medicine
Winston Cavert, M.D. Medicine
John Crosson, M.D. Laboratory Medicine and Pathology
Scott Crow, M.D. Psychiatry
Yvonne Datta, M.D. Medicine
Alfred Dees, BMus in Ed. Unaffiliated
Andre Dukes, B.A. Unaffiliated
Daniel Duprez, M.D., Ph.D. Medicine
Milton Eder, Ph.D. Family Medicine and Community Health
Deborah Engelhard, M.A. Unaffiliated
Britt Erickson, M.D. Obstetrics & Gynecology
S. Hossein Fatemi, M.D., Ph.D. Psychiatry
Melissa Fisher, Ph.D. Psychiatry
Robert Foley, M.D. Medicine
John Grabowski, Ph.D. Psychiatry
Robert Haight, Ph.D. Fairview
James Harmon, M.D., Ph.D. Surgery
Carl Johnson, M.S. Unaffiliated
Tae Kim, M.D. Anesthesiology
Hyun Kim, M.D. Medicine
Suma Konety, M.D. Medicine
Robert Kratzke, M.D. Medicine
Tom Kraus, M.B.A. Unaffiliated
Lisa Kreeger, M.D. Unaffiliated
Barbara Lindberg, B.S.N., J.D. Unaffiliated
Jeff Louie, M.D. Pediatrics
Mark Luquette, M.D. Lab Medicine and Pathology
Arthur Matas, M.D. Surgery
Weston Miller, M.D. Pediatrics
Charles Moldow, M.D. Medicine
Michael Partington, M.D. Gillette
David Potter, M.D., Ph.D. Medicine
Jen Poynter, Ph.D., M.P.H Pediatrics
David Prince, J.D. Unaffiliated
Bruce Redmon, M.D. Medicine
Samuel Roiko, Ph.D. Pharmacology
Justin Ryder, Ph.D. Pediatrics
Otto Sanchez, M.D., Ph.D. Medicine
Shalamar Sibley, M.D., M.P.H Medicine
Renee Sieving, Ph.D., M.S.N. School of Nursing
Shanthi Sivanandam, M.D. Pediatrics
Arne Slungaard, M.D. Medicine
Angela Smith, M.D. Pediatrics
Timothy Starr, Ph.D. Obstetrics & Gynecology
Muna Sunni, M.D. Pediatrics
Takashi Takahashi, M.D. Radiology
Pam Van Coevering, MA Public Health
Robert Webster, Ph.D. Unaffiliated
Antonia Wilcoxon, MIM Unaffiliated
Delia Wolf, M.D., J.D. Havard School of Public Health
Jean Wyman, MSN, Ph.D. School of Nursing
Mark Yeazel, M.D., Ph.D. Family Medicine and Community Health

Social behavioral

Name/Title Affiliation
Holly Dolezalek, B.A.Unaffliated
Niki Gjere, M.S., M.A.Fairview
Wilma Koutstaal, Ph.D.CLA, Psychology
Kristen McMaster, Ph.D.Educational Psychology
Benjamin Munson, Ph.D.CLA, Speech Language Hearing
Ebony Ruhland, Ph.D.Law School, Robina Institute
Joyce Strand, Ph.D.UMD Education
Keisha Varma, Ph.D.Educational Psychology
Rachel Widome, Ph.D., M.P.H.School of Public Health
Laura Young, M.S.W.Unaffliated

Student social behavioral

Name/Title Affiliation
John Bratager, J.D.Unaffiliated
Insoon Han, Ph.D.UMD Education
Lauren Martin, Ph.D.Humphrey School of Public Affairs
June Nobbe, Ph.D.Office for Student Affairs
Roger Rose, Ph.D.UMM Social Science Division
Teresa Swartz, Ph.D.CLA Sociology
Damir Utrzan, M.S.Family Social Science

Questions about IRB Membership?

Tamara O'Black, HRPP Consultant
(952) 994-6318